Funding and governance

ELIXIR-LU is supported by the Luxembourg Ministry of Higher Education and Research (MESR) and the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) through direct and in-kind contributions.

Their joint support provides the computational and personnel infrastructure necessary for offering sustainable services to the national and international research community.

MESR logo and LCSB logos

The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is composed of five members:

Dr. Antonio Andreu
Scientific Director of EATRIS, the European Infrastructure for Translational Medicine.
Prof. Ron Appel
ELIXIR-CH Head of Node; Executive Director of the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics; Professor at the University of Geneva.
Prof. Søren Brunak
ELIXIR-DK Head of Node; Research Director at the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research; Professor at the University of Copenhagen and the Technical University of Denmark.
Dr. Jacques Demotes-Maynard
Director of ECRIN, the European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network.
Erik Steinfelder
Director General of BBMRI-ERIC, the Biobanking and Biomolecular resources Research Infrastructure – European Research Infrastructure Consortium.

Additionally, a National Stakeholder Committee has been formed. It is composed of representatives from the Ministry of Higher Education and Research, and all government and research institutions with interests in the biomedical “ecosystem” in Luxembourg. Input from this committee helps ELIXIR-LU align with the interests of our national data provider and user communities.